Life is Incredible Sometimes {Warning: Heartfelt}

15 Nov

Today Michael and I (anxiously) ventured out to the grocery store with both kids. It went surprisingly well (yay progress).

When we reached the checkout, I was holding Ruby facing over my left shoulder. A middle aged gentleman came up behind us and was instantly enamored with her. They were smiling back and forth at each other for several minutes. The man told me how adorable she was and how beautiful her eyes were (how nice to hear something aside “Wow….she’s really small.”). They continued smiling at each other and it seemed like Ruby was really putting on a smile show for him.

After a few more minutes, the man asked me what her name was.

Ruby.” I replied.

He stopped for a second and with tears welling up in his eyes he said, “Seriously?!” I shook my head and wondered what he meant.

He said, “Well you might think this is crazy but that was my Mother’s name.”  and continued, “Today was her birthday.”

I could tell he was a little taken aback with emotion and I replied, “Well, she must be looking out for you today!”

Ruby continued smiling and began to coo at him.

I said, “Its not a very common name, you know?” He shook his head and continued smiling with her with tears in his eyes.

Another minute of Ruby hamming it up continued (can you tell our cashier was old?) and I curiously asked him, “What was her middle name?”

Mae.” he said.

I felt chills on the back of my neck.

Now I said, “Seriously?!” He looked at me curiously.

I said, “I swear to God, her middle name is Mae. Ruby Mae Reese”.

He began to cry.

I began to cry.

We just stared at Ruby, who was still smiling and cooing. Ruby reached her hand toward him and he took a step closer to her. A cashier at the next aisle over asked the man if he wanted to be checked out.

He said, “No, I think I’ll stay with Ruby Mae a little longer.”

2 Responses to “Life is Incredible Sometimes {Warning: Heartfelt}”

  1. Jenna November 15, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

    And now I have tears. You need to write that down and share it with Ruby when she’s older. That’s an awesome story.

  2. Morgan February 2, 2012 at 5:20 pm #

    And then I began to cry.

Leave a Reply

