Happy 4 Months Ruby Mae

23 Oct

Hi.

It has been too long since I’ve had time to do anything with two hands besides breastfeed, change diapers, fold laundry, cook, clean or drive. But here I am, on a real computer with two free hands (Thanks to Jude’s exhaustion and Michael playing with Ru).

I can’t believe it has been four months since Ruby was born but on the other hand, I can’t imagine our family without her. Things have been….busy. I seriously feel like having one child was like being on vacation compared to this. Having two babies at the neediest stages of life, what was I thinking? Not that I would have it any other way, but I was kidding myself before trying to imagine how difficult it would be. It’s like running a marathon with no finish line. It’s also more intense this time around because I am breastfeeding, which requires SO MUCH MORE work, dedication, patience, planning and sleep deprivation. It is so unbelievably worth it to me though, I love it. It forces me to take time for just Ruby and I to bond. I really wish I would have been able to experience nursing Jude, but I’m glad he was still able to receive breast-milk in a bottle.

Jude’s interest in Ruby seems to increase by the week. The more Ruby is able to talk, wiggle and interact with him, the more he loves her. We have to be careful though, because sometimes he is a little too excited to play with his sister. He is doing so much better on the jealousy front, but there are still times when I am nursing Ruby that he decides is the perfect time to try and jump on my lap. It makes me feel so bad to try and juggle that time between the two of them, but I know it is just a phase.

Ruby sleeps okay at night. She wakes up 2-3 times (for about 30 minutes), but at least when she is done nursing, she usually goes right back to sleep. I’m not sure what her stats are yet because her next doctor’s appointment isn’t until November 1st. I look forward to it. I don’t worry about her eating because that is all this girl still likes to do it seems 🙂 She began talking and making beautiful little cooing noises and squeals about a month ago. I haven’t gotten a “real” giggle or laugh out of her yet, but she is the happiest lil baby I’ve ever seen.  Everywhere we go people stop us to tell us how beautiful she is, how cute and tiny she is. I can’t help but agree. Her demeanor is so delicate and lovely, soft and sweet. I joke that after having such an energetic child like Jude, I’m deserving of an “easy baby”. Ruby is so fascinated by Jude’s energy and laughter, her face lights up watching him.

No matter how tired or stressed I get, I can’t help but feel like the luckiest Mama in the whole world. Because I am.

Earlier today:

Besties:

One Response to “Happy 4 Months Ruby Mae”

  1. LaurenH October 24, 2011 at 6:39 am #

    Wow 4 months already!! You have the cutest kids Tiff!! I will admit you scared me a bit with the “running a marathon with no finish line”. I’ll definitely need some pointers in 2 months!

Leave a Reply

