I swear I’m alive. Kinda.

9 Jul

It has been quite a couple of weeks here in the Reese household! The amazing excitement of the birth of Ruby Mae, adjusting to life with two under 2…. and another trip to the ER. Yea, good times!! Unfortunately, I have a staph infection (Cellulitis) in my leg from my C-Section. After a fun little trip to the ER on Wednesday, I am fixed up with some (giant) antibiotics to help me heal. My leg looks like it belongs to a hideous animal BUT it already feels better.  I’m hoping in a few days I will be good as new. I would REALLY love to avoid going to the hospital again for a long, long, longgggggggggg time. I hate them (in case that wasn’t painfully obvious by now).

The kids (I love saying “The Kids”) are doing great! Well, Jude is still having some allergies and still “adjusting” to the new changes in our house. “Adjusting” is our really nice way of really saying “throwing tantrums every 10 minutes”. I blame the combination of: new baby, not feeling well and growing closer to the magic age of 2. I still adore him despite this I (duh) and try to be as patient as possible. It’s much more embarrassing when other people are around or when he throws tantrums in public. I try to ignore him and stay as calm as possible. It scares me though that I’ve begun dreading leaving the house with him because I’m afraid of what he will do next. I don’t want him to have that much power, but I don’t know how to reason with a person who only says a dozen words (the primary one being “NO!”). Yesterday my Mom suggested getting some kind of parenting book. Any book suggestions for me? Some kind of “How to raise children without killing yourself FOR DUMMIES” or something?!

Ruby is sweet as pie. I just love her, I can’t stand it! I want to chew on her cheeks because she is so tiny and precious!! She is such a fatty, eating like a machine. Okay, I’m not sure if someone who is 7 pounds can qualify as a “fatty” but that is what we call her anyways.  She is pretty much always happy, unless you get in her way of eating, in which case…watch out. I am so excited to put her in her first tiny bathing suit tomorrow for Ari’s birthday party. It is actually borderline pathetic how excited I get about dressing her each day. I knew I would like it before she was born, but I didn’t understand how much until I saw the first magical (giant) bow placed upon her (perfect) head. Its hard to even remember what life was like without her. She is such a perfect fit. It melts me into a giant puddle of goo every time I see Jude give his sissy a kiss, or when he brings over her pacifier to me because he wants to be helpful.

As for Michael and I? We are blessed. Tired and living in a house that is not even close to how clean I usually wish for it to be, but blessed. Basically I am nursing 90% of my day right now, which makes me really boring. I feel sorry for Jude but luckily we have had such helpful family come and take him on fun adventures over the past two weeks.I wont be boring forever, I swear Jude!

I look around at my children and sigh because I get so overwhelmed with love and admiration for them. I hope they understand one day just how much I love them.

Jude cooking just like Daddy.

Ruby right after “lunch”.

Snuggles with Daddy.

Big Brother. Who loves chicken.

Little doll.

So precious.

2 Responses to “I swear I’m alive. Kinda.”

  1. Sequoyah July 10, 2011 at 7:58 am #

    i’m so happy for you woman.

    and if you really want to look at a parenting book, we LOVE dr. john rosemond. we have “new parent power”, which is a big fat book with sections on each age group. he’s old fashioned though, there is no reasoning with your child, it’s all about “mom’s the boss. why? because i said so.” it works GREAT for us though!

  2. Saz July 10, 2011 at 9:21 am #

    One of our favorites has been Love and Logic Magic for Early Childhood. I have also recently discovered Dr. Laura Markham’s site AhaParenting.com and actually have a few applicable pages still pulled up so I will c&p a few links:

    Helping your older child adjust to new baby: http://www.ahaparenting.com/ages-stages/newborns/Help-Sibling-Child-Adjust-New-Baby

    Game plan for terrific twos: http://www.ahaparenting.com/ages-stages/toddlers/toddlers-terrific-twos

    I don’t think there really is reasoning at this age, mostly redirecting and preempting bad behavior, but hopefully you will get some good ideas from that website. 🙂

Leave a Reply

