Mexican Wedding Cookies

5 May

My Mother-in-law (aka Lita) shared this fantastic recipe with me for Cinco De Mayo. They are so bomb, I strongly encourage you to make these!!!

1 cup butter
1/2 cup powdered sugar plus more for rolling baked cookies
1 tspn vanilla
1/4 tspn salt
2 cups flour

     Cream butter, 1/2 cup powdered sugar, vanilla and salt until fluffy.

        Stir in flour and blend well.

       Chill 30 minutes.

  Shape into 1″ balls. Place on un-greased cookie sheet.

  375 degree oven for 12-15 mins (I baked mine for 10 minutes and they were perfect)

. Until golden brown–do not overtook– they’ll get tough.

   While still warm, roll them in powdered sugar.

     Roll again in powdered sugar when cool.

Best if sugar is sifted before rolling. Note: these cookies are more tender without nuts, but you can add 1 cup finely chopped nuts. Makes about 3 dozen small cookies.

 If doubling recipe, form 2 balls to chill.

One Response to “Mexican Wedding Cookies”

  1. lelebelle May 5, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

    I LOVE these cookies! Some of my very favorites. I use the same recipe, though I’ve never chilled them, and I’ve always known them as Russian Tea Cakes. Also, I never use nuts — why would I ruin such buttery deliciousness with crunch?

    My favorite: a few of these with Irish breakfast tea. Yuuuuuuum!

Leave a Reply

