>42 days and counting…

7 Aug

>
Well, as of today Jude has been bouncing around for 238 days (34 weeks) and will hopefully be bouncing out in 42 days or less! Things are going well and excited only begins to describe how we feel.

So on Monday we went on a tour of our Hospital (Mercy San Juan) Labor & Delivery department. I was pretty familiar with it since we had to make a trip there before, but we were happy to go check it out again. I even got to see two cuddly babies. Also, it was nice because my Mama and Step Dad Everitt got to come, which was great since my Mom is going to be in the room with Michael & I during the big show.

Basically what we saw is the birthing room (it has a tv, dvd player, couch, jacuzzi bath tub, shower, etc) in which the actual labor & delivery takes place. Once Jude is born, we will first have skin to skin contact for bonding and to help regulate his temperature and then he will go for a quick bath and his APGAR test. After he is born we will move into a postpartum room, which takes about 2 hours after delivery. Family & friends will have to wait until we get settled there to see Jude, as it would be much too crowded in L&D and Michael and I would like some private bonding time first.

Unfortunately, the PP rooms are double occupancy, so here’s hoping Jude comes when the hospital isn’t very busy or I get a nice roomie. Once we are settled in the PP room we can have 2 visitors at a time from 10 am to 9pm. If all goes well and I deliver vaginally I will stay in PP for about 2 days, if for some reason I had to have a CS then we would need to stay about 3-4 days. For anyone who is interested, here is a link with info about the Family Birthing Center where I am delivering:

http://www.mercysanjuan.org/Medical_Services/Womens_And_Childrens_Services/Family_Birth_Center/index.htm

I am also all signed up now for Lamaze classes (finally!) which Michael and I will be attending together. I suspect he will need the deep breathing more than I will once I get my epidural. At least I hope?

Jude’s progress this week: “Baby’s senses are continuing to improve — when light peeks in through your (extremely) stretched belly, those tiny eyelids and irises blink and dilate. And, baby can now recognize and react to simple songs… time to start practicing your lullabies! Growth (at least inside your womb) is starting to slow, and you may notice baby descend into your pelvis at the end of this month.“- TheBump.com

He is about 5 pounds and 20 inches long already. Wow.

I’m feeling alright, mostly sore. Sometimes it hurts to even walk and rolling over at night seems to cause me the most pain and aggravation. When I am in pain in the middle of the night I think “If I already hurt this bad, how much is it going to hurt when…” and then I try not to think anymore.

Leave a Reply

