>27 Weeks

22 Jun

>Today was supposed to be a regular check up for me and my second 1 hour Glucose test (to test for Gestational Diabetes). The nurse came in to take my blood pressure, which has been completely normal throughout my pregnancy, it was extremely high so she called the doctor in and the doctor took my blood pressure and it was even higher, so they sent me over to Mercy San Juan to be checked out in the Labor & Delivery department, they were almost going to make me ride in an ambulance but luckily Michael was at my appointment to take me.

Once arriving at L&D my blood pressure was fine and the baby’s heartbeat was strong and healthy. They hooked me up to a fetal monitor and took my blood pressure every 15 minutes for a few hours and did a blood and urine analysis. All seems to be well, so I am at home now resting. Not sure if the blood pressure was just taken wrong, or actually was as high as it was taken but I will be back in to see my Dr. this week to be checked out again.

One positive thing is we got to see the birthing rooms and area where I will be meeting Jude for the first time. All the staff at the hospital were terrific, very informative, intelligent and help ladies!

I will update after my next appointment, but please keep me and Jude in your thoughts in prayers that we don’t have any more scares like that!!

2 Responses to “>27 Weeks”

  1. Leanna June 23, 2009 at 9:13 am #

    >Woah, that is really weird and crazy. I will definitely be praying! I hope it was just a fluke and nothing that you'll have to deal with.Hopefully this will help calm any blood pressure-related fears you now have…One of the pregos in my prego buddy group dealt with high blood pressure for the last few weeks of her pregnancy. I'm not sure what the cause was. She ended up having a perfect birth and a very healthy baby! She and the baby are both doing perfectly well. So, don't stress yourself out too much!

  2. Tiffany Reese June 23, 2009 at 2:49 pm #

    >Thanks Leanna, I feel better now that all will be fine and I know there could be a lot worse things going on right now. Just glad Jude is okay! Can't wait for your baby shower:)

Leave a Reply

